7 tips on what not to do before and during your flight...

1)  wearing snakeskin, tan stiletto heels (also know as pointy grilled cheese…thanks amara, love that 4 year old) from 5:30 am till my final landing time of 8:15 pm with a layover in another city! i know what your all thinking… umm duh?  So here me out, i wear frick'n gum boots and sneakers most days.   so for starters i thought i would be all "look i'm on vacation… without kids, wearing makeup and shit".  besides in my past life i would wear heels all day at work, no joke a would merchandise whole wall sections. I would climb ladders, caring  30lbsof clothing  to and from…crap, i should be able to handle a little walking in a few airports.  besides, i need to brake in my feet for the week ahead.

(FYI… i just finished  hobbling through the chicago airport chanting to myself under my breath "dina walk the blisters, don't let the blisters walk you" )

ok if we are going to be  honest, there's yet another more pethetic reason as well…space!  i wanted so many big girl shoes that i actually rationalized that wearing the heels will save space vs the flip flops and not to mention weight….the heels were clearly a quarter pound heavier then the flip flops.  you see i weighed my bag on my scale at home under weighs everything by  7lbs  (which i LOVE by the way). the sucker weighed in at 42lbs + 7 gives me a feeling that I may have to show complete  strangers  my unzipped bag full of undies and an excessive heel collection at the air port check in.  resulting in me having to pull out 20 tank tops to layer on me and cary a ziplock full of bangels for a 8 + hours travel day!!!

PASS, heels your coming with me.   ***irony, they never weighed my bag***

 

2) don't wake sleeping babies at 5:30am…smart right!

big mistake, 6:30am and i received the call from a hysterically crying/hyperventilating 7 year old because i didn't kiss her goodbye.  awesome mom status suspended and let the guilt of moms going away for a week begin.  funny, i didn't think that would start within the first hour of my journey i was really aiming for my first hangover to kick the guilt in…saidly we can't predict these things!

 

 

3) not knowing what hotel i'm staying at?

nope, not joking.  i was checking in and the both prompts "type in your hotel"….umm  did the mr. tell me where the reservation is (see he's been gone for days already to another conference before we meet up in miami).  i stood there thinking, well this sucks but i happened to remember a vage conversation where is said somthing about the fontaine blue hotel but i didn't actually confirm that detail with the mr.…i guess that's where the cab is taking me later…lol!  i bet your all thinking call him?  but remember i have a pay and talk circa 2005 cell phone (does it even work in the states?) nope.  sometimes i wonder why i tell you all this…i'm really not that moronic just not detailed oriented for trips i didn't plan.

here's the montra for the day... it's the journey not the destination!!

 

4) wearing your finest jewels through security and when i mean fine, i mean your stamped 925 !

i asked the lady if i should remove them but she said proceed through the metal detectors.

BEEEEP, shiiit…i haven't done anything but i feel guilty. personally, i wouldn't enjoy groping people all day long but whatever floats your boat!  in the end it was a combination of my bejeweled off the shoulder shirt, the metal buckle thing on my shirt and a bobby pin caused all the touchy feely stuff.  i did however restrain from asking the lady if she feels i should lose the 5 lbs i gained or whether she "felt" it was working for me (hold up, with my scale does that really mean 12lbs?, dam halloween)?  i'm glad i held off because i fear it would have led to this next question…"while your up there can you check for any signs of rectal cancer"?

security check complete. next stop.

 

5) aggressively coughing in elbow while talking to the customs agent.

hand sanitizer was not suggested but squirted in hands and proceeded to ask…have you been around farm animals, monkeys etc type questions began.  i asked if children fall into the unusual farm animals category and whether husbands who behave like pigs counted, he said no.

 

onward.

 

6) don't read your boarding pass fully.

i know, i know all of you are detail oriented…shut it .  i have issues with following letters and or number directions...period. so yes, i was asked to move by the stewardess to my CORRECT seat…while the plane was full.

nice right.

 

7)  sleeping while on a flight.

i have the ability to  fall asleep whenever i go horizontal within a ten minute time frame …anywhere!  i recently fell asleep while upright when i had a 10 minute wait while school let out and with my lack of z's this week you'd think falling asleep on the plane would be well the perfect cocktail for slumber...no kids, lack of sleep, no distractions and hours of travel!  NOPE.  planes suck.  no joke, as i'm typing this the gentleman beside me is teasing me by snoring  (as if to say…dina, wouldn't you like to be drooling and irritating your fellow passengers with such a deep sleep).  i have seen many people successfully sleeping on my journey today (the drawings below is some of the examples of folks I was able to document, best case options if you really want to try catching a little shut eye on these air buses) I did attemt the "f*** you, i own this window" but something about trying to sleep against cold glass and or textured plastic shutter didn't quite work out.

anyways good luck with that. BTW...if you have a good sleeping position due tell because i'm pooped!

 

well i hope these not to do tips help you on any future trips you decide to go on,  personally i will make a few "revisions" myself for the next time i travel.

 

 

HOLY CRAP THURSDAY'S

HOLY CRAP, here we go again.  pack the aspirin, fetch the european thong from storage (joking, i just go nude...ok totally lying again...sorry my bad), leave the two out of four children behind...mamma's going back for more shenanigans! miami, i'll see you in three days!

 

 

 

 

choosing to be in the moment...

life for most of us is like being on auto pilot, just functioning with highs and lows but mostly we feel our lives are hectic (or at least i do). sadly, we are so far "in it"(life that is) that we lack the ability to step "out of it" and get a needed new perspective on our own lives...

LAST WEEK

i was informed via text message that a couple we know were involved in a very serious car accident resulting in the lovely female perishing on impact.

upon reading this i PAUSED. so still, i could hear my heart.

it felt as though the words i had just read lept up and slapped me in the face, HARD. totally stunning me and taking my ability to breathe away.  in its place came burning uncontrollable streams of tears.

***********i always find it interesting how people's live's effect us, i had only met her a handful of times but she left a mark on me.  it felt unjust and wrong. i guess you never really know how something or someone will impact you, till it does*******************

then the sobbing began, taking my already horrific texting ability to a near impossible task to respond back to this tragic news.  after i muster through and finish "the conversation" i sat there looking at my phone and then it began, THE FEELING...it's like an injection or an IV of sorts.  this "antivenin" gives me the ability to do something i'm rarely able to do on my own.  i'm  literally able to stand up unzip my suit called "life",  lay in on the floor and take a good hard look at it.

tears were pouring all over "it",  i remember thinking..."is this it, is this the best i can do...is this how i want my life to be".  "god, you look impatient, ungrateful and tired this thing called "my life" laying before me".

 

***********the injection / IV will call it the "antivenin" for a lack of better phrases always enters me in times of loss or deep emotional sadness.  it never lasts...perhaps the clinical term or description is fight or flight? regardless of what the "antivenin" really is I wish i had a cupboard full of it.  i would stab that miracle in my leg every other week to keep me "in the moment", to keep me seeing and feeling how life really "is" or how its intended to be seen as magnificent not mundane.*******************************

the "AV" was working, it always makes me feel ill.  perhaps it's all the sick feelings being brought to the surface of days and or perhaps years wasted...coasting through life and not valuing or really even living it.  pushing through the ill feelings i stare at "my life" unzipped, raw and undeserving...i know i have a choice to make.  i have the ability to be grateful, happy and to live "in the moment".  i can choose to enjoy the small detail, to love my family more...to fucking just STOP.  breathe and be grateful for what i have and the people who are with me in this world.  because it's a miracle and a blessing to wake up for another day, to see the sun rise, to understand and feel the wait of a moment.  these moments are unique and will never, ever come back.  we have one chance to live this life and i have the power to choose to live it.

so i picked up that "suit", i began to shake the crap out of it...years of unwanted feelings, reactions and missed moments went flying, making their way onto my hardwood floor and crashing into little pieces.  unrecognizable pieces.  i slipped "my life" back on... tight, REALLY TIGHT and walked over to my children and hugged the shit out of them.

 

it's hard to think that anything positive could come from such sadness and tragedy but that night i changed, for the better.

moments are now, not tomorrow or the next day.  because life is unpredictable.

 

 

(may you walk with the angels and soar with the eagles Catherine...your life did not go unnoticed)